My Personal Get Fit Challenge to Myself

 

Hey all!

I wanted to write something about my challenge to get fit before summer. I recently got a complimentary Cool Sculpting treatment from a wonderful med spa here in Omaha called Devenu Medical Rejuvenation Spa and it has really motivated me to start focusing on my health goals. I am currently writing a separate piece on the Cool Sculping. As a mom, I come across a few challenges like my schedule, yummy kids foods in the house, and just being tired all the time. I know that some of you can relate so my goal is to get this all figured out and make this plan stick and reach my fitness goals. Here is what I have come up with.

1. Make the time!

As tired as I may be in the morning, I HAVE to get my booty out of bed and do some cardio and strength training. My plan varies all the time but at the end of this post I will list some fitness plans I love along with some inspiring fitness gurus that are helping me along the way. If I don’t work out in the a.m., I know I will not get it done in the evening because when I get home I get busy with dinner, helping kids with homework, baths, catching up on personal emails, making lunches for the next day, and the list goes on and on. Basically, I have to get my butt out of bed or my workouts are not happening.

2. Watch what I am eating!

This fall I discovered I was gluten intolerant (not celiac) and I gained from switching my foods to GF. Why? Most gluten free foods have a lot of calories and are highly processed. This is a real bummer! So, my plan has turned into eating REAL food like meats, veggies, fruits and nuts.  My goal is to stay away from processed foods and sugar! The sugar part is a real bummer but, it’s not good on the waist line. Pinterest is really helping find yummy GF, Paleo type recipes to make this really easy for me. Also, this is a great time to teach my kids about healthy eating and cooking healthy. My journey to find healthy snacks for my kids is getting easier and easier and  a lot of the time they enjoy the healthy snacks over the highly processed, sugary ones.

3. Stick to the plan!

It is really easy for me to write a plan because I know what to do and how to eat and how to work out. The challenge for me is to stay committed. I go really strong for about two weeks and then I fall right off of track. I made a visual goal board with everything I want to achieve and it really has been working. If I miss a workout or eat something bad I am also not going to freak out about it! That will through me off track too.

Resources:

Tone It Up girls Katrina and Karena on YouTube. They are my fitness heroes! I love their workouts and they have wonderful tips.

www.toneitup.com

Self Magazine. I love this magazine! I think they have great tips and are realistic.

www.self.com

Lean Secrets on YouTube. Brenda is a fitness expert that believes if you eat wholesome foods and cut out some things you don’t need to count calories. Who has time to count calories? I know I don’t. Her workouts are great too!

www.leansecrets.com

Jillian Michaels. Her DVD series is great and if I don’t have a lot of time to work out I put in a DVD.

www.jillianmichaels.com

Pinterest. Believe it or not it is helping get healthy! I invite you to follow my boards!

http://pinterest.com/ashleygaa/

Here is my typical day:

AM

6:00-wake up and do 45-60 minute workout

7:00-shower, get ready for work, pack back packs, etc.

7:30-get kids up and ready for school

8:00-out the door for work and school

8:30-5:00pm-at work

PM

5:45-at home get dinner ready and help kids with homework

6:30-eat and talk about everyone’s day

7:00-start packing lunches for the next day

7:30-clean up time, dishes, laundry, pick up messes, etc.

8:00-bath time for the kids

8:30-kids off to bed (this usually is a rough time it takes about an 30 minutes)

9:00-watch a little TV and get caught up on emails, social media and maybe write

10:00-I like to be off to sleep by this point

That’s my typical day! Sometimes it doesn’t go as planned but, I don’t get to bent out of shape about it. I just move onto the next day. I believe in being organized but, I also believe in living my life and being happy.

I would love your feedback on this post! Any tips or tricks you have I would love to know!

 

Leave a Reply

